Michael Lee honored, other highlights from RISE annual meeting

By |  October 2, 2018 0 Comments
Michael Lee accepting RISE award | Photo: RISE

During its 28th Annual Meeting, RISE honored Michael Lee, manager, government affairs, GCSAA, as its 2018 Grassroots Excellence Award for engaging and mobilizing superintendents to support grassroots efforts. Pictured with Michael Lee (center) are Karen Reardon, RISE vice president of public affairs and Aaron Hobbs, RISE president. (Photo: RISE)

RISE (Responsible Industry for a Sound Environment) welcomed new governing board members and recognized dedicated volunteers during its 28th annual meeting at Amelia Island, Fla., with a focus on engagement and community building.

Nearly 600 manufacturers, formulators, distributors and other industry leaders attended the meeting Sept. 23-26, 2018. The event was held in conjunction with CropLife America, which honored its long-time President and CEO Jay Vroom, who retired after nearly 30 years, and greeted its new leader Chris Novak.

“Our industry is in a time of transition and opportunity,” said Darren Horst, RISE Governing Board chair and vice president and general manager of Central Garden & Pet. “We welcome Chris Novak to CropLife America and the potential for our partnership as we go boldly forward in this new operating environment.”

The RISE Governing Board met on Sept. 23, and elected new members Katherine Bishop, Lebanon Seaboard Corp., holding a formulator seat; Scott Reasons, Syngenta, holding a manufacturer seat; and Michael Maravich, Sipcam Agro USA, filling a formulator seat.

Outgoing board members completing their terms are Stephanie Jensen, BASF Corp., and Dan Stahl, OHP, who served as board chair from 2014-2016.

Others continuing their terms on the Governing Board include:

  • Darren Horst, chair, Central Garden & Pet;
  • John Gertz, vice chair, SiteOne Landscape Supply;
  • Zack Zaki, treasurer, FMC Corp.;
  • Jeff Alvis, AMVAC Chemical Corp.;
  • Sean Casey, Nufarm Americas;
  • Bill Culpepper, SePRO Corp.;
  • Todd Ferguson, Primera;
  • Gilles Galliou, Bayer;
  • James Guard, Bayer;
  • Tom Linnen, Corteva Agriscience;
  • Doug Obermann, PBI/Gordon Corp.; and
  • John Smith, WinField United.

The meeting’s theme was boldly4ward and reflects the idea that in times of change — including consolidation, trade concerns and a shifting political landscape — the specialty pesticide and fertilizer industry must continue to work together and learn from one another.

“RISE goes boldly forward with its activity in the social space to talk about pesticide use, benefits and their necessity for daily living,” said Aaron Hobbs, RISE president.

Michael Lee, Golf Course Superintendents Association of America, was honored with the RISE 2018 Grassroots Excellence Award for engaging and mobilizing superintendents to support grassroots efforts.

The Advocacy Strategic Driver Award was presented to the Label Workshop Planning Workgroup, which includes:

  • Jon Ostrowski, Clarke;
  • Doug Soper, PBI/Gordon Corp.;
  • Jenn Hughes, Corteva Agriscience;
  • Kerry Sosa, BASF Corp.;
  • Jill Holihan, FMC Corp.;
  • Patty Flis, FMC Corp.;
  • Kristen Shears, Corteva Agriscience;
  • Tann Schafer, Bayer;
  • Julie Schlekau, Valent U.S.A.;
  • Carrie Tackema, Nufarm Americas;
  • Brad Glenn, Bayer;
  • Katie Swift, Liphatech;
  • Kylli Paavola, Liphatech; and
  • Norma Pangilinan, SBM Life Science Corp.

RISE Volunteer Service Recognitions were awarded to three outgoing RISE committee chairs — Frank Wong, Bayer, Legislative Affairs Committee chair; Jim Jensen, Nufarm Americas, Communications Committee chair and Jill Holihan, FMC Corp., Regulatory Affairs Committee chair.

Horst and Hobbs presented the association’s highest honor, the E. Allen James Award, to Jose Milan, Bayer, during its gala celebration on Tuesday evening. For nearly 30 years, Milan has chaired and participated on committees and has been an industry leader.

“Engagement with our members, communities, social channels and the industry was our focus for 2018 and we are thankful for active members who dedicate their time to the work of our association and bring their voices to the conversation,” said Hobbs.

This article is tagged with , , and posted in Industry News

Post a Comment