Travis Russell and Devon Carroll receive Musser Awards of Excellence

By |  April 4, 2022 0 Comments

The Musser International Turfgrass Foundation selected Travis Russell and Devon Carroll, Ph.D., as 2022 Award of Excellence recipients.

The Musser Award of Excellence is given to outstanding Ph.D. candidates who, in the final phase of their graduate studies, demonstrated overall excellence throughout their doctoral program in turfgrass research.

Travis Russell (Photo: The Musser International Turfgrass Foundation)

Photo: Travis Russell

Russell received his bachelor’s degree in horticulture, landscape and turf sciences and his master’s in horticulture from the University of Arkansas. He is currently working on his doctorate in agronomy at Pennsylvania State University.

Starting in May, Russell will serve as the technical services representative for the golf and lawn care industry for Bayer Environmental Sciences Canada.

“Through my career in the industry, I hope to develop and provide solutions for agronomic challenges facing turfgrass managers,” Russell said. “I’m very thankful for my mentors who I have learned so much from and who prepared me for my career in turfgrass science.”

Carroll received her bachelor’s degree in turfgrass science and master’s in agronomy at Penn State. She earned her doctorate in plant, soil and environmental science, concentrated in weed science, from the University of Tennessee.

While at the University of Tennessee, she also completed a second master’s degree in agricultural leadership, education and communications focused on recruiting women to the turfgrass industry.

Devon Carroll (Photo: The Musser International Turfgrass Foundation)

Photo: Devon Carroll

“Earning the Musser Award of Excellence has been a goal of mine for many years, and seeing this goal come to fruition has been incredibly exciting,” Carroll said. “It is an honor of the highest degree to be recognized among the top turfgrass scientists in the world.”

Carroll is continuing her research career as a development scientist contractor with Bayer Environmental Science. She plans to focus her work on herbicide development and weed management solutions, as well as continuing her support for women in turfgrass through outreach and education.

The criteria for selecting award recipients include graduate work, academic record, dissertation, publications, leadership, and extracurricular activities. To date, awards have been granted to doctoral students from universities including Arizona, Auburn, Cornell, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Carolina State, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue, Michigan State, Rutgers, Tennessee and Texas A&M.

This article is tagged with and posted in Industry News, People

Post a Comment