McIlroy, Lewis, Langer voted GWAA players of the year

By |  January 6, 2015 0 Comments

The votes have been counted and the results are in from the Golf Writers Association of America’s (GWAA’s) Player of the Year awards, and Rory McIlroy, Bernhard Langer and Stacy Lewis each came away with their second honor.

McIlroy’s stellar 2014 season led him to the top spot of the world rankings with his first Open Championship, a second PGA Championship and the World Golf Championship. He also won the European Tour’s BMW PGA and the season-long Race to Dubai. All of those accolades earned the 25-year-old 94 percent of the GWAA votes for Male Player of the Year.

“Truly a great honor for me,” says McIlroy, who also won in 2012. “This award is testimony to my best year as a professional golfer and something I can aim toward winning again as I go into next season.”

Langer won a total of five events on the senior tour including two senior major titles of his own and finished at the top of the season-long Schwab Cup standings. The 57-year-old ran away with Senior Player of the Year, earning 90 percent of the of the votes.

“To receive the Senior Player of the Year award is a great honor and a blessing,” says Langer, also the 2010 winner.

Lewis, 29, last won Female Player of the Year in 2012 and earned the honor this year with 57 percent of the vote. Her three victories, tops on the money list, winning the scoring title and placing first on the Rolex Player of the Year standings set her apart from second place Lydia Ko and third place Michelle Wie.

“It’s a true honor to be recognized by as GWAA Player of the Year for the second time,” Lewis says.

The winners will be honored at the 43rd annual ISPS HANDA GWAA awards dinner presented by The PGA of America, PGA TOUR and USGA on April 8 in Augusta, Ga.

This article is tagged with , and posted in Uncategorized

Post a Comment