Jacobsen named 2012 Old Tom Morris Award winner

By |  July 26, 2011

From GCSAA’s press release:

Multiple PGA TOUR winner and renowned golf course designer Peter Jacobsen has been selected to receive the 2012 Old Tom Morris Award by the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America (GCSAA).

The award will be presented at the 2012 GIS in Las Vegas.

“Peter has done much for the game of golf, and he has been an advocate for golf course superintendents,” GCSAA President Robert M. Randquist, CGCS, said. “He has also been quite giving of himself for charitable events. He is a perfect fit for the Old Tom Morris Award, and we look forward to recognizing him at the GCSAA Education Conference.”

GCSAA’s most prestigious honor, the Old Tom Morris Award, is presented each year to an individual who “through a continuing lifetime commitment to the game of golf has helped to mold the welfare of the game in a manner and style exemplified by Old Tom Morris.” Morris (1821-1908) was greenkeeper and golf professional at the St. Andrews Links Trust Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland; a four-time winner of the British Open (1861, ’62, ’64 and ’67); and ranked as one of the top links designers of the 19th century.

Jacobsen has won seven times on the PGA TOUR and two Champions Tour majors, the 2004 U.S. Senior Open and the 2005 Senior Players Championship. He played for the U.S. Ryder Cup teams in 1985 and 1995. Jacobsen has finished in the top 11 of all four majors, including third place finishes at both the 1983 and 1986 PGA Championships. He reached as high as seventh place in the end-of-season money list in 1995, and earned the 2003 PGA TOUR Comeback Player of the Year after winning the Greater Hartford Open that year at the age of 49.

This article is tagged with and posted in Columns

Comments are closed.