Your behavior appears to be a little unusual. Please verify that you are not a bot.

Crop Science Society honors NC State’s Yelverton

By |  August 28, 2021 0 Comments
NC State University Professor Fred Yelverton talks to visitors at the school's Turfgrass Field Day (Photo: NC State)

NC State University Professor Fred Yelverton talks to visitors at the school’s Turfgrass Field Day (Photo: NC State)

North Carolina State University Crop and Soil Sciences Extension Specialist and professor of turfgrass weed science Fred Yelverton was named as a 2021 Crop Science Society of America Fellow. The awards are presented to Society members in recognition of outstanding contributions to crop science through education, service, and research.

“Fellow is the highest recognition bestowed by the Crop Science Society of America,” the CCSA said. “Members of the Society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service. Less than 0.3 percent of the Society’s active and emeritus members may be elected Fellow.”

Lambert McCarty, Clemson professor of horticulture in turfgrass science, nominated Yelverton for the award, saying, “Dr. Yelverton is the world’s leading turfgrass weed scientist. He never seeks attention or personal recognition but because of his incredible professional knowledge, conducting numerous training opportunities, willingness to help the industry with agronomic problems.”

Yelverton received his B.S. in wildlife biology and M.S. and Ph.D. in weed science at North Carolina State University.He teaches both undergraduate and graduate courses in turfgrass, co-authored “Color Atlas of Turfgrass Weeds: A Guide to Weed Identification and Control Strategies” and writes extensively in professional journals and for NC State’s TurfFiles Extension website.

His most recent work has been on managing herbicide-resistant weeds in turfgrass, particularly goosegrass and annual bluegrass.

“Herbicide resistance, from a broad perspective, is one of the most problematic issues in agriculture, and turfgrasses are certainly not immune. It will be an issue in agriculture for the indefinite future,” Yelverton said.

Yelverton was part of a public-private partnership with NC State faculty, the turfgrass industry and the state legislature to create the Center for Turfgrass Environmental Research and Education in 1999-2000.

“Over its 20 year period, the Center’s funding has resulted in NCSU faculty graduating 46 M.S. and 36 Ph.D. students. The quality and relevance of research funded by the Center is something everyone associated with NC State can be proud of,” Yelverton said.

Yelverton joins 15 Crop and Soil Sciences faculty who previously received the same Crop Science Society Fellow honor since 1980.

  • Guy Jones, 1980
  • Joe Burns, 1981
  • Bill Collins, 1982
  • Major Goodman, 1986
  • Charlie Stuber, 1986
  • Earl Wernsman, 1987
  • Bob Patterson, 1988
  • Joe Burton, 1991
  • Rich Wilson, 1993
  • Tom Sinclair, 1995
  • Tommy Carter, 1997
  • Tom Stalker, 1998
  • Johnny Wynne, 2000
  • Paul Murphy, 2008
  • Jim Holland, 2014

Yelverton will formally accept the Fellow award at the CSSA awards ceremony in November during the scientific society’s annual meeting.

“Without a doubt, [the highlight of my work] is helping people be more successful in their jobs and businesses,” Yelverton said. “The land grant mission has to be one of the greatest accomplishments in our country. I have seen how we can help people via research and outreach and then take our experiences to the classroom and then watch as our graduates become some of the most successful people in the industry. That is very rewarding.”

This is posted in People

Post a Comment