Your behavior appears to be a little unusual. Please verify that you are not a bot.

Arkansas State Golf Association awards inaugural Garland Tynes Memorial Scholarship

By |  July 22, 2022 0 Comments

The Arkansas State Golf Association (ASGA) named Will Green and Derrick Olsbo, students in the University of Arkansas’ horticulture department, inaugural recipients of the Garland Tynes Memorial Scholarship.

Named in honor of Garland Tynes, former superintendent at Pine Bluff Country Club, Pine Bluff, Ark., the scholarship is available to students who study turfgrass management with dreams of becoming a golf course superintendent.

“I am honored to be chosen as a recipient of the inaugural Garland Tynes family and would like to personally thank the Tynes family and the ASGA for their support of turfgrass students at the University of Arkansas,” Green said.

Green, a native of St. Louis, Mo., transferred into the program last year and is currently an intern at The Olympic Club in San Francisco.

Olsbo, a native of Neosho, Mo., is an intern at The Alotian Club in Roland, Ark.

The Golf Course Superintendents Association of Arkansas will recognize both winners at its Fall meeting on Oct. 10 at Shadow Valley Country Club in Rogers, Ark.

This article is tagged with and posted in Industry News

Post a Comment